Better late than never?

More than a week between posts… this is troubling. I apologize for the lack of updates, but I’ve just been immersed in Golden Sun: The Lost Age and Marvel: Ultimate Alliance. I believe it may have been a mistake to jump into both of these games at the same time, as both are relatively lengthy RPGs which I had not made much progress in on first play. Oh well, c’est la vie.

In the meantime, I suppose that now is as good a time as any to finish up that Castlevania rambling I was doing before.

When I left you last, I had just purchased myself a pink GBA. What I didn’t mention is that by myself I had concluded that I would wait until the Best Buy re-stocked and just pick up a blue one. That same day, I was speaking with a friend of mine who was a former Best Buy employee, and she proposed a solution to my quandary. She informed me that Best Buy will perform an exchange of an item without checking the validity of the customer’s claim that the product isn’t working properly. The plan was flawless: (1) buy the only GBA available and start playing Circle of the Moon immediately, (2) continue checking the Best Buy for the color of GBA I want, (3) when they’re restocked, take the pink one back, telling them that the screen cut out, and exchange for a less-girly color. And so I did.

Circle of the Moon led to two other Castlevania games on the GBA, of course: Harmony of Dissonance, and Aria of Sorrow. The favorable impression that CotM left on me demanded that I pick up Harmony of Dissonance the day it came out. At the time, it felt like a mistake. I didn’t make it very far into the game before becoming hopelessly stuck. It turned me off of Castlevania altogether for quite some time, leading me to skip Aria of Sorrow altogether (much to my current dismay). I wouldn’t pick up another Castlevania game until Dawn of Sorrow hit the DS, which I felt was starving for quality titles at the time. I didn’t touch Harmony of Dissonance again until I began this project, somewhere around four and a half years later.

The latest round of Castlemania (I seriously can’t believe I just typed that…) came about from Symphony of the Night hitting Xbox Live Arcade.  As I mentioned in an earlier post, I never actually had the chance to play SotN despite having heard nothing but great things about it.  With it coming out on XBLA, I snapped it up in a flash and found out first hand that it does, indeed, live up to all the hype.  Afterwards, however, I was still wanting more, leading me to finish up Portrait of Ruin, and it all snowballed from there, bringing me to this glorious mess of ambition.  In other words, this is all Castlevania’s fault.

Leave a Reply

