Danger at every turn

A little more than a month has passed, and I’ve been making some decent progress. I’ve knocked down 8 of the original 77 thus far, resulting in a 10.4% completion percentage. My eyes are starting to wander, however. It seems that there are new (and not-so-new, for that matter) games that I want all over the place.

On the PS2, for example, God of War II has been calling my name since it was released. I’ve managed to hold off on it so far, and expect I’ll be able to for a while longer, too. As popular as the original God of War was, I imagine GoW II is bound for the Greatest Hits collection, and will be a piece of cake to find a copy of later on down the line. Odin Sphere won’t have that luxury, I believe. It seems like a quirky, niche-y title that’ll get dropped from stores as soon as the first run is sold out. This troubles me, as I don’t particularly want to add to the list, but I don’t want to have to trek through eBay and deal with sellers’ obscene “shipping” charges.

The PS2 isn’t the only system that’s tempting me with its wily wares either, oh no! All else being equal between games, I tend to lean towards the Xbox 360 version these days (in theory… no game has really yet forced my hand) due to Achievements. With some few exceptions, Achievments are worthless in the strictest sense of the word. You don’t get anything out of ’em except for a bigger digital wing wong to swing about. You can’t spend them. All they show is that you either spent more time on a game than your friends did, or you’re slightly better at a game than your friends are. But honestly… who cares that they’re worthless? They’re FUN to get! They give you a sense of accomplishment when you obtain them. Anyway, this whole rambling paragraph is just to explain that while I already own the original Guitar Hero for the PS2, I’m jonesin’ for the sequel on the 360. Plus, with BioShock, Mass Effect, and Halo 3 on the way, my prospects of keeping the 360 list slim are going out the window.

The PSP is gunning for me, too, as I’ve recently become intrigued by the premise of the Killzone games, and the PSP iteration, Killzone: Liberation, is supposedly the best of the (admittedly small) series thus far. I tried the demo of it, and was quite pleasantly surprised. I’ve actually determined that it will end up being mine… it’s just a matter of when. The DS, on the other hand, is at least giving me something of a reprieve (at least until Phantom Hourglass gets here).

Even the PC is getting in on the act. While I’m not currently counting PC games in the list, I still play some on occasion (*cough*Mount&Blade*cough*). So even though picking up new ones won’t count against my list, it’s still bad form. It’s just that the demo for Space Rangers 2 was so much fun, I can’t help but consider purchasing it!

And then, to top it all off, I’m itching for games that don’t even exist yet. I’m not talking about games that are under development but just haven’t been released — I’ve mentioned some of those already — but games that have virtually zero chance of ever being made. Specifically, I’m thinking of Mouse Guard, the incredible graphic novel by David Petersen. I just picked up the hardcover collection of it a couple weeks back, and after reading it through, I couldn’t help but imagine a game in the style of God of War (for anyone who’s read MG, just think of the battle with the snake handled with GoW‘s presentational flair). Mix in a bit of TMNT for the multiple anthropomorphic animal characters with differing weapons to choose from while playing the game, and Pikmin for the sense of scale, and you’d have a serious winner on your hands.

Leave a Reply

