Best. Day. Ever.

One day, three games completed. Best day ever? Perhaps. In my last post I mentioned having just finished Age of Empires: Age of Kings and Sly 2: Band of Thieves, and said that I would be moving on to Jak II. I knew I had quite a bit of Jak II done, and figured it would be a nice little bit to play in the next few days leading up to BioShock. I didn’t know just how much I had already finished on the game, however. I didn’t think to keep track of it, but I would guess it was no more than three or four hours put into it to bring the game to completion. It could very well have been a bit more, though, as time seems to fly when you’re screaming obscenities at the television.

Jak II really is one of the most frustrating games I’ve had the misfortune to play. I enjoy the storyline quite a lot, and the controls are usually pretty decent (although it NEEDS a lock-on button for shooting… the half-assed auto-target is worthless), but the handling of death is atrocious. It really comes down to the save system that’s in place… the game allows you to save at any point from the menu, but when it has to load (after you die, for a pointed example), it sends you back to some obscure invisible checkpoint 15 minutes and 27 nasty bottomless pits ago. Also, the final boss fight needed to be tweaked a bit… the room it takes place in is filled with goodie crates, but each and every one of ’em contains naught but rifle ammo. There’s no health, there’s no ammo for any of the other guns, there’s just ammo for the plain vanilla semi-automatic gun. I entered the battle with ammo in all my other weapons, but when I would die and start over at the checkpoint (luckily this one was actually at the beginning of the battle), whatever ammo I had used before dying was still gone. After my 94th attempt (or thereabouts… honestly, I lost count), all of my other ammo was gone. Anyway, enough about that… I managed to make it through and bump that percentage up another notch.

Leave a Reply

