Two more out of the way

I mentioned previously that I was hoping to complete either Age of Empires: Age of Kings or Sly 2: Band of Thieves before next week (this week, I suppose, since it’s now Sunday), in order to pad my percentage, which is certain to drop on Wednesday with BioShock coming out. In the strictest sense of what I said, I failed, as neither game was finished as of 11:59 in the PM last night. However, at somewhere around 2:00 in the AM today, Age of Empires was crossed off the list. Less than 12 hours later, Sly 2 joined it. I fully expect to be right back where I was in a couple weeks, though. With BioShock coming out this week and Metroid Prime 3: Corruption next week, the gains I just made are sure to be erased. For now, though, I’ll take what I can get.

I face a dilemma with the Sly Cooper series, now. I had originally passed up the latest installment, Sly 3: Honor Among Thieves for the same reason I had skipped Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow. That is, I had gotten stuck on the preceding game in the series and thus felt no compulsion to play the follow-up. Now, having just finished Sly 2, I’m eager to follow the plot further. The problem is, as I just mentioned, I’m already set to add two more games to my list in as many weeks, the last thing I really need to do is to add a third one that I’ve already successfully avoided for two years now.

Age of Empires, on the other hand, I would love to pick up a sequel for, if only one existed. Perhaps it’s because a sequel doesn’t exist that I can so confidently say that I would pick one up, though: imaginary games don’t mess with the list.

Now I just need to decide what’s up next. I just threw Kirby: Canvas Curse into the DS to replace AoE, but I haven’t fired it up yet, and may decide to switch it out. The problem there is that I really don’t want to play the other DS games I’ve got on tap. Phoenix Wright and Hotel Dusk I picked up based on the hype, but I was severely let down. Perhaps they’ll get better, as I haven’t put a lot of time into either one of them, but the small amount I’ve played of each, I was underwhelmed. Super Mario 64 DS was purchased at launch, because there was basically nothing else better to get. Despite the terrible controls, I’ll eventually knock it out (I kinda have to, don’t I?), just not right now. Metroid Prime Hunters is still great, but as with any Metroid game, there’s little to no guidance, and I can’t recall where to go or what to do next in it. Sonic Rush is on the list, even though it’s technically my wife’s game, but I’ve only just played the tiniest bit of it, and I’ve never been so hot at the Sonic games. Depending on how my attempt at Kirby goes, I may be falling back on Sonic.

At home, I’m leaning towards Jak II to hold me over until BioShock, as finishing Sly 2 got me in the mood for some more early-2000s-PS2-platforming. As a bit of a bonus, I believe I’ve already got quite a lot of Jak II under my belt, the biggest reason I haven’t finished it being the same problem I had with Sly 2: I had been focusing entirely too much on getting everything in the game. When next I fire it up, I’m going to be making a conscious effort to just finish the damned thing. Here’s hoping I can do it in two days or so…

Leave a Reply

