‘Shock the monkey

Given the game’s setting, perhaps the title should specify “the sea monkey.” Anyway, I finally picked up BioShock last night, which I know is a huge surprise to anyone who has read any of my posts for the past week or so. I’m pleased to relate that it truly is as awesome as everyone says. I’m hearing that the plot takes somewhere in the vicinity of twenty hours to complete, which is just about perfect, as far as I’m concerned. Really, when a game gets any longer than that, the chances of it being completed drop off markedly (at least, they used to… now that I’m on a mission, though, it’s a different story). Twenty hours, though, is a respectable amount of time to invest in a game — enough that you don’t feel that you got ripped off, but not too much so that you get bored. On the other hand, if I pull any more 5 hour sessions like last night (unlikely), the twenty hours are going to fly by far too quickly. Good for the ol’ percentage over there, but bad for someone who’s currently craving all the BioShock he can get his paws on.

I’ve decided to move over to the PSP on the handheld side of things, as my remaining DS library is really rather lackluster. I fully intended to start with Field Commander when I switched focus to the PSP, as my recent run through Age of Empires had me felling all strategery-y, but the fates had other plans. With all the BioShock last night, I didn’t get an opportunity to read any of the plethora of excellent comics that were released yesterday. In order to make up for lost time, then, I attempted to get some of ’em read this morning before work. The problem arose, then, when I spent my entire morning reading instead of tracking down Field Commander. On my way out the door, I snagged my PSP with Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters still in it. It works out, though, as I did end up making it past the hoverboard race I was stuck on when last I played the game. On the other hand, I just managed to get myself stuck at another point 10 minutes later. Fantastic.

One Response to ‘Shock the monkey

  1. Todd says:

    I’m betting you’ll finish Bioshock by the end of the weekend. You’re not too far behind me, based on the achievements, and I’m probably 70% or more into it. I’m guessing you’re not going to go for all of the achievements? Tracking down all the tonics, audio logs, and weapon upgrade stations will be a pain in the ass, but you should at least try to rescue all the Little Sisters (two achievements if you get them all and choose to Rescue rather than Harvest). The Big Daddies get much easier as you research them and your plasmids and guns get upgraded, so there’s really no excuse not to rescue them all.

    I noticed you have Gears of War on your Xbox 360 list. You should finish that one off. It’s very short, and relatively easy on normal difficulty. Depending on where you’re at in the game, you might be able to finish it in one or two evenings. Good for the percentage, you know. I currently don’t have any plans for Labor Day weekend, so that might be a good time to co-op Gears just to Get ‘er Done.

Leave a Reply

