Well, that wasn’t so bad

I had been gearing up for BioShock for a little bit now, battening down the hatches and going on a completion spree to beef up my percentage in the expectation that I wasn’t going to get much else done for a while.  Turns out, if you spend ridiculous stretches of time playing a game into the wee hours of the morning for four days straight, you tear right through a game.  I finished last night, actually, but I’ve been struggling to come up with something fitting to write about the experience.  It truly is an incredible game, but I can’t help but feel disappointed by the ending.  I won’t discuss any details, as I hate spoilers, but it seemed like there should have been more to the ending that what there was.  Now, I believe I saw the “bad” ending, as I harvested quite a few Little Sisters throughout my time in Rapture, but even if the events the ending depicts are “bad,” there’s still no excuse for the overly brief coverage of them that was presented.

I plan on eventually playing through it again and saving every Little Sister, to see the “good” ending — not to mention getting the “Little Sister Savior” Achievement (warning: link shows ALL Achievements for the game, including the spoiler-ific Secret Achievements) — but it’s not a priority, of course.  My next task, then, is to try to clear out Metroid Prime 2: Echoes in anticipation of this week’s release of Metroid Prime 3: Corruption.  This will not actually happen.  I tracked down my Wavebird and memory card last night, tossed the game into the Wii, and fired it up.  I’m only at 35% completion on it, I have no idea where I’m going or what I’m doing in it, and the new game will be on the shelves on Tuesday.  With that being said, I suppose I should probably do less of the yappin’ and more of the playin’…

One Response to Well, that wasn’t so bad

  1. Todd says:

    Dammit, you beat me to completion of Bioshock. I got sucked into Two Worlds and haven’t played Bioshock since Friday night. You asked me on Friday if Two Worlds was worth it, and all I can say “Maybe”. I’m digging it, but if you go into it expecting Oblivion you’re going to be sorely disappointed. If I had to compare it to another game, I’d say it’s much more like Diablo or Dungeon Siege if you put those games into a third-person action game form (Two Worlds is not a clickfest like Diablo, and it doesn’t have partying liike Dungeon Siege). Graphics are just average, voice acting is terrible, and I’ve heard bad things about the online play. That said, I’m hooked and Bioshock may have to go on the back burner for me. Sad.

Leave a Reply

